A recent study ranked Massachusetts the second hardest driver’s tests for residents to obtain a driver’s license. With the alarming statistics of fatal car accidents among teen drivers and considering that motor vehicle accidents are among the leading cause of injury in the United States, this is a good thing.
Car accidents often result in injuries and, in some cases, death. With all the technological gadgets, cell phones and other distractions, the better educated drivers are, the safer our roads and highways.
Massachusetts Driver’s Test - One of the Hardest to Pass in the Country
Recently, a personal injury law firm in Utah conducted a study on driving tests across the country. The results found Massachusetts to have the second hardest driving test to pass. The state of Washington was ranked number one. This study considered the requirements to obtain a driver’s license and the difficulty of the written exams and road tests.
What’s Involved in Getting a Driver’s License in Massachusetts?
Being granted the privilege of driving a car give residents freedom and independence. I’m sure we all remember how exciting it was to get our license. When a Massachusetts resident wants to drive, he or she must obtain a driver’s license. To do this, you must first apply for a driver’s license.
The vast majority of applicants are teenagers. Residents in Massachusetts can apply for a learner’s permit to drive when they turn 16 years old. To obtain a learner’s permit, applicants must pass a learners’ permit exam and a vision test.
After obtaining their learners’ permit, you must then attend and complete a drivers’ education program, complete a specific number of hours of supervised practice driving and maintain a clean driving record. Only then can you register to take the road test. Once you pass the road test, you can get your driver’s license.
Teens between the ages of 16 ½ and 18 years old can get their Junior Operator’s License once they successfully complete the above requirements. This doesn’t provide absolute freedom to junior operators. (See this article for the restrictions on junior operators). Once junior operators reach age 18 and have held their junior operator’s license for at least 12 months, then they are eligible for an unrestricted driver’s license.
Statistics Reveal Teens and Cars can be a Dangerous Combination
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death for teens in the United States. The CDC found that in 2016 nearly 2,500 teens in the United States ages 16 to 19 were killed and just under 300,000 were treated in emergency departments for injuries suffered in car crashes.
As the statistics show, car accidents often result in severe injuries, very expensive medical bills and significant pain and suffering. If you or someone you love has been injured in a car crash, you should speak with an experienced Massachusetts personal injury attorney.
If the accident was caused by a negligent driver, an accident victim has the right to seek financial compensation for the injuries and losses they suffered in the crash. However, insurance companies often make it difficult to obtain the compensation accident victims deserve. A personal injury lawyer can help guide you through the car accident process and force the auto insurance company to provide you or your loved one with fair and just compensation.