The answer to this question is: Yes.
In Massachusetts if you have been injured in an accident caused by someone else, the laws place a deadline by which a personal injury lawsuit must be filed. This is known as the statute of limitations. For a personal injury lawsuit that arises from a car accident and is based on negligence, the statute of limitations in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts is 3 years.
This means that you have three years from the date of the crash to either settle your case with the insurance company or file your lawsuit after an accident. If you fail to file the lawsuit within 3 years, you will be forever barred from doing so.
This deadline and other legally complex issues often arise in personal injury cases and are reasons why you need an experienced lawyer on your side. With nearly 50 years of combined experience handling personal injury cases, Joe and I have the skills and resources that are necessary to handle the most intricate legal issues that may arise in your case all with the focus on getting you the money you deserve.
So, if you have any questions about your accident, feel free to give us a call or fill out the contact form on our website. We’d be more than happy to answer your questions and provide the guidance you need to make the right decisions.